Who are Delaware’s newest school board members?

Tuesday brought nearly 21,000 Delawareans to the polls for elections impacting kids, schools and their communities.

School board races in New Castle County hosted some of the heaviest competition this year, but ballots were cast across every county May 9.

Delmar and Milford schools technically dominated in turnout across districts at 10% and 8% of registered voters, respectively, according to results released about 10 p.m. However, Red Clay’s 4.4% carried nearly double the votes of both combined at over 4,700.

Average turnout was just under 5%.

Preliminary results now reveal the latest additions to Delaware’s school boards, most set to serve for four years in these new seats. The results remain unofficial until certification.

New Castle County

Appoquinimink School District

At-large seat

  • Tashiba Graham — Winner (970, 39.2% of the vote)
  • Timothy Johns (537 votes)
  • Raymond Petkevis (966 votes)

Christina School District

District C

  • Christine Gilbert (1,226 votes)
  • Douglas Danger Manley — Winner (2,298, 65.2% of vote)

District E

  • Y.F. Lou — Winner (2,395, 67.8% of the vote)
  • Yong Peng (1,138 votes)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *